top of page

The Unibet Premier League begins in just over a couple of weeks time.

The Unibet Premier League begins in just over a couple of weeks time. No, it’s not been a year since the 2020 Premier League which was delayed due to Covid-19 as finals were held just five months ago in Mid-October last year.

Although just five months ago, many will have forgotten who actually won the Premier League back in 2020. After 16 rounds, 7 months, 423 x 180’s and 4 x 170 finishes, Glen Durrant topped the table then went on to win the final 11-8 over Nathan “The Asp” Aspinall. So, can Durrant win again in 2021? His form since that win would suggest a big “NO”. He was knocked out of the 2021 World Darts Championship in the fourth round 3-4 by Dirk van Duijvenbode. He was knocked out of the Masters by eventual finalist Mervyn King in the first round 1-6 in late January. Then a fourth round loss by a margin of 6-10 to Dutchman Danny Noppert in the UK Open earlier this month would suggest that even at $26 to win this year’s Premier League, the punters are rightly putting him in last spot to win overall.

For the record, the Premier league will be played by ten players this year with a straight round robin competition that will begin on April the 5th and will be held over just nine nights with the final called “Judgement Night” held on night 9 on April the 22nd. The format will no longer have “challengers” and has been shortened once again due to the unknown’s around Covid-19 with possible lockdown’s and crowds/no crowds etc. The opening game will be between last year’s finalists, Nathan Aspinall and Glen Durrant.

So if not Durrant, then who? Of course the favourites will be the 2021 World Champ Gerwyn Price and World number 2 Michael van Gerwen (MVG). They will always be expected to be there or thereabouts in the end. But fourth favourite, Jonny Clayton has to be in the mix after having taken out the Masters tournament in late January and proving he is a very much contender for the Premier League title this year.

Last year’s finalist, Nathan Aspinall is not being given a chance by the bookies as he is third to last at just $19 to win the Premier League this year. Sure he’s not had the best start to the 2021 season, but I’m not sure I would write him off that quickly.

Scotsman and World Championship finalist Gary Anderson must also be a solid contender to take out this year’s Premier League. This despite his current number 7 world ranking.

I haven’t even mentioned the World Matchplay Champ Dimitri van den Bergh, Grand Slam of Darts champ Jose de Sousa, European Championship winner Peter Wright or World Series of Darts finalist Rob Cross. The Premier League is full of the best, including six of the top ten best players in the world.

The one thing that is a surety in the Premier League is that this competition will provide plenty of upsets. Even though there’s just nine nights of competition, don’t expect the “favourite” to win every time. With the world’s best competing in this tournament, its probably the best darts tournament behind the World Championships and a must watch. Enjoy!

Straight Arrows everyone

Paul Webber

Owner – Bullseye Darts


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page